Connecticut state pistol permit
Modern debates about the second amendment, the right to bear arms, have focused on whether it protects a constitutional right of the people, or a right that should only be exercised by government officials.
Over the past few years, gun control laws have been in the spotlight. Controversy sparked after the 2012 shooting at an elementary school in Newtown Conn., that fatally took the lives of 20 students and 6 adult staff members.
With the ongoing presidential election’s, a major focus is gun control. Presidential candidates have made their stance clear on gun control laws. With the actual elections still to take place in 2016, it is uncertain how current laws on gun control will change in the upcoming years.
As for the Constitution State of Connecticut, the state is Castle Doctrine and does not have a stand-your-ground-law.
Connecticut issues state permits to carry pistols and revolvers to both residents and non-residents of the state.
Connecticut pistol permit allows to carry concealed or open.
Applicants for the Connecticut pistol permit must be at least 21-years-old and be a legal resident of the United States. Persons convicted of a felony or any one of 11 misdemeanor offenses detailed in the statute are ineligible to receive a permit.
There are fee’s associated in obtaining a pistol permit for both application and processing. The permit is good for a period of five years with additional renewal fees.
The application may be obtained from a local police department, city /town hall or can be downloaded and printed off of www.ct.gov
Prior to submitting the application a completion of NRA’s “Basic Pistol Course,” a handgun safety course, is required. The applicant will be submitted to fingerprinting, background investigation and a criminal history check.
The issuing authority has eight weeks to review the application and issue an approval or denial.
In the event that an application is denied, the issuing authority must provide a written explanation listing the basis for denial.
A denial may be appealed to the Board of Firearm Permit Examiners as provided under C.G.S. 29-32b, within 90 days after receipt of such refusal.
But what happens in the case that an application is denied without proper notification?
Well that’s what happened to Kevin Dunn, a security supervisor, who had submitted his application a few months ago.
After the completion of the NRA’s “Basic Pistol Course,” Dunn submitted an application for Connecticut’s pistol permit.
Following a few weeks after submitting the application, Dunn hadn’t received any notification on the status of his permit. Dunn went to the local police dept. of his town to seek the status of his application.
Dunn was informed in person that he was denied.
“I’m pro gun,” Dunn said, “I felt the need to exercise my right’s in the constitution.”
Dunn submitted an appeal to the Board of Firearm Permit Examiners in hopes of having his case reviewed.
“The status of my appeal is still pending due to the imperfections of the police dept.”
If approved Dunn plans to use his license to further his career in armed guard security.
To conclude Connecticut’s pistol permit laws in Article I,Section 15 of the Constitution of Connecticut it states “Every citizen has a right to bear arms in defense of himself [or herself] and the state.”